Oatmeal-y Goodness

Good Morning Fellow Bloggies!

Boy, am I tired and sore this morning. This is all about the first steps in the journey,right?

Well, I was craving oatmeal lately, and had gotten some great organic extra thick and tasty rolled oats from the Bob’s Red Mill, it was inexpensive, healthy, organic, and totally yummy! 🙂

Oatmeal is a great breakfast choice because it is a sustainable grain: it keeps you full all day and is chalk-full of heart healthy fiber and whole grains. I topped mine with some other great nutrients to up the potency of this bowl of oatmeal. Not just your regular oatmeal, no!

Here is the magical mix:

  • 1/2 cup of rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup of light soy milk + 1/2 cup of water
  • 2 tablespoons of ground flaxseed
  • a dash of cinnamon and a dash of salt
  • 1/2 banana

Throw all the ingredients in a bowl over the stove, and once the liquid starts to bowl, vigorously stir the oats until the banana melts into the mixture. You won’t need any added sugars or bad-for-you additions because the banana naturally sweetens the oatmeal. Then, top it off with 3 sliced strawberries and a tablespoon of peanut butter for protein-staying power.

Voi-la! One delicious and healthy oatmeal.

Don’t forget my cup of coffee!

For my workout, I decided to hit the spin bike. I always struggle with biking, so the more I do it, the more challenging it is and the more I can improve. Challenges are the spice of life, right?

I decided to do hill climbs and sprint intervals. (Total time 30 minutes)

  • Warm up 5 minutes easy pace
  • Start climb: 1 minute
  • Up the climb: 1 minute
  • Stand: 3o seconds, seated and recover 2 minutes
  • Repeat 4x
  • Lessen the resistence, sprint 30 seconds as fast as you can!
  • Recover at an easy pase, 1 minute
  • Repeat 4x
  • Last climb! Increase resistence 1 minute
  • Increase resitence, one minute
  • Full out climb: out of your seat! 1 minute
  • Recover, cool down 5 minutes
To add some more cardio power, I hopped on the elliptical for 30 minutes to get a full 60 minutes in for today. I stayed at a moderate pace, just hard enough to keep my heart rate elevated. Most importantly; STRETCH! My body really needed that today, as I was sore all over. I concluded with 5 minutes of core-strengthening planks (in 1 minute intervals). After a good workout, I am ready for a yummy lunch, with the state of the fridge, is yet to be determined… Until tomorrow, my lovely food-bloggies!
Ciao for now,
-Mary
Leave a Reply

