Swept Away by the GREEN.

Good morning, good morning! (says Brogan!!)

Let me introduce you to my cutie-pie doggie, Brogan!

I was in an especially chipper mood this morning. I like to say that maybe it is because my cooking skills are greatly improving! I was able to convince my little brother to let me make him a simple ham and cheese omelet and a greek yogurt and berry smoothie before he left for school today. He usually grabs one of those awful frozen breakfast sandwiches, which I know are absolutely terrible! So I was able to cook him something just as yummy, filling and protein-filled, that was also made with whole foods. No artificial eggs or filler-meat sausage. It made me happy to be able to serve wholesome food!

After he left and I had my cup of coffee, I was hit with a realization. I have been swept up by theGreen Monster Movement. Found on this lovely blog by Angela, Oh She Glows, she introduced the name “Green Monster” to these amazing and energizing green smoothies!! I am officially in love with them and look forward to crafting green-gooey concotions as I fall asleep on my pillow at night and bound out of bed in the morning. Angela created an entire seperate blog, The Green Monster Movement, to post reader’s own recipes and more. Can you believe that? An entire blog dedicated to the green-amazingness?!? Well, after all that hoop-lah, I am ready to show you what I concoted in my blender this morning:

I grabbed this smoothie from Angela’s recipies. And let me just say, it is so healthy!! I choose this one in particular mostly  because I had most of these ingredients on-hand, but also because I am still a rookie at this. Give me some time to work up to the pumpkin, but I know I will 🙂 It also is a great way to start out my path to eliminating animal products from my diet. It is so filling and healthy, I have never felt deprived after drinking one of these babies. Oh ya, it is also totally delicious.

Blueberry Banana Green Monster (from The Green Monster Movement)

  • 2-3 cups organic spinach
  • 1-1.25 cups soy milk
  • 1 tablespoon flax
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 cup mixed berries (I substituted frozen berries for fresh blueberries because its all I had in my freezer)
  • ice
  • (I added fresh strawberries because I had them on hand!
It as so full of good for you ingredients, it didn’t all fit into my magic bullet! I might have to switch to a traditional bigger blender when I start adding more and more healthful ingredients…
I am officially energizied for my day!!
Work out will be a basic 5k jog, yoga at 3:30, and in-between, I have some special errands to run! One of them I will let you know tomorrow, but for now, a much needed pedicure. A great way to indulge that isn’t bad for you, like how I used to eat a pint of ice cream, this is pampering, fun, and just plain old awesome.

So anyways, Lunch was leftovers. Dinner… leftovers. Not very much fun but so easy! No need to mention them or show pictures. They won’t be very interesting!  Thanks for tuning in bloggies!

Ciao for now!

-Mary

Leave a Reply

