Blender Love Affair

Good Morning!

I just wanted to show you how my Green Monsters have been going ever since I whipped out my brand new Ninja blender. See below 😉

It’s a beautiful thing, isn’t it? I want to introduce you to my green smoothie. He is just a down-right lovely sight to see in the morning. So. Green.

Power Peach Kale Green Smoothie

-2 cups of kale

-1 cup of almond milk

-1 tablespoon ground flaxseed

-1 tablespoon wheat germ

-1/2 frozen banana and 1 peach

I am still trying to adjust to kale in my green smoothies. I know they are good to mix up with the usual spinach, but in smoothies they are quite bitter and chewy. Maybe next time I will add some more banana for added sweetness and less kale. Honestly, I stuffed my blender with it. Healthy yes, extremely normal green smoothie tastiness, not quite. Work will be done on the kale ratio for green smoothies.

Oh Ninja, you did good my friend. I blended through my frozen bananas like there was no tomorrow. I often thought my old blender would die when I blended them, but this is just a walk in the park for my new morning friend. I am so excited about it!

I also added half of my sample packet of Amazing Grass Amazing Meal, in the Original blend. I wanted to just “test” the waters with any supplement. I have to say I enjoyed it! I only used half a serving, but the protein kept me full and I could barely taste it as I blended away. Looking at the ingredients and nutrition, I am thinking about investing in some.

In other news, I am learning more and more about preparing tofu. I always reserved my supply for stir-fry’s, but I wanted something more savory with less oil for tonight’s dinner. I realized you can’t really seriously mess up with tofu, you could even eat it raw. I looked up this baked tofu recipe from vegweb.com. Click here for more tofu goodness!

Simple Baked Tofu

It turned out to be so easy and so delicious. The marinade is easy and I had leftovers for the next few nights.

Marinade:

3 tablespoons soy sauce
3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon ground ginger
1 tablespoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 tablespoon olive oil

(I added some nutritional yeast for more minerals and vitamins!)

Cut up 1 pound of firm tofu and marinate overnight of for 10 minutes. Set up a wire cooling rack over a pan and bake in the oven for about 20 minutes.

I enjoyed this with quinoa and the last of this summer’s asparagus. I can’t believe I missed asparagus season! Oh well, they were delicious.

Anyway, I have also been going to Lila Yoga here in Spokane. I have to say, I have just done the introductory two weeks and I am coming up on my second week. I have tried Yin Yoga and Vinyasa. I love them both. I am considering a summer package. Yoga just makes me feel so good, flexible, and strong!

Well, off to work. Ciao for now! -Mary

Leave a Reply

